Bryan Shaw: Night Owl

Artists / Instruments:
Bryan Shaw: Trumpet

  • Dan Barrett: Trombone
  • Brian Ogilvie: Clarinet & Tenor Sax
  • Scott Robinson: Baritone Sax, Clarinet, Tenor Sax
  • Chuck Wilson: Alto Sax, Flute
  • Dave Frishberg: Piano
  • Jeff Hamilton: Drums
  • Bucky Pizzarelli : Guitar
  • Joel Forbes : Bass
  • Rebecca Kilgore: Vocal
  • David Stone: Bass
  • Eddie Erickson: Guitar, Banjo, Vocal

    Highlighting the talents of a refreshingly individual trumpet player from California, Bryan Shaw, "who has unobtrusively played his way into the front rank of distinguished contemporary mainstream musicians, backed here by an all-star cast, including Dan Barrett, Scott Robinson, Dave Frishberg, Bucky Pizzarelli and the song stylings of Rebecca Kilgore... Were this recording made in 1945 as several Keynote albums, it would surely occupy space in my collection alongside sets by Coleman Hawkins, Earl Hines, Joe Thomas and Benny Carter. I can think of no higher praise than that." -- Richard Hadlock: Author of Jazz Masters of the Twenties & host of The Annals of Jazz on KCSM-FM San Mateo, CA

    Here is what the critics have to say:
    Bryan Shaw: Night Owl

    "A TORCHBEARER FOR TIMELESS SWING...Bryan Shaw is not a household name, not even in jazz households. But on his first CD as a leader, Night Owl, the California-based 46-year-old trumpet player recalls the flair of Bunny Berigan, the melodic romanticism of Ruby Braff and the way players in the rural South were described before the word ´jazz´ was in vogue. In those days, listeners called improvisers ´singing horns.´" Nat Hentoff, Wall Street Journal, February 1, 2001

    I Wish I Were Twins

  • Snafu
  • Body and Soul
  • Panhandle Rag
  • Ol´ Pappy
  • Bean and the Boys
  • Night Owl
  • They Say It´s Spring
  • I´m Comin´ Virginia
  • Accent on Youth
  • Aunt Hagar´s Blues
  • It´s Been So Long

    Download for FREE

    Arbors Records can not be held responsible in anyway for and damages or other results from downloading this program!

  • Home | About Us | Contact Us

    ©2000 - 2017 Arbors Records, Inc.