The Magnificent VII: The Newport Beach Session

Artists / Instruments:
Jon-Erik Kellso: Cornet

  • Dan Barrett: Trombone
  • Rick Fay: Tenor and Soprano Saxes, Vocal
  • Chuck Hedges: Clarinet
  • Johnny Varro: Piano
  • Bob Haggart: Bass
  • Gene Estes: Drums
  • Special Guest: Marty Grosz: Guitar, Vocal

    The Magnificent VII shares several qualities with the beloved World´s Greatest Jazz Band of the 1970´s. The WGJB was quite an all-star band; their music looked backwards toward both the Bob Crosby Bobcats and Eddie Condon´s many bands yet was fresh and vital with a point of view of its own that was not directly copying the past; quite a few memorable recordings resulted which found the distinctive soloists inspiring each other. All of those fact equally apply to the Mag VII. -- Paraphrased from the album notes by Scott Yanow, who has been writing about jazz since 1975 and is the main editor of the All Music Guide to Jazz.

    Here is what the critics have to say:
    Selected by Al Van Starrex as a Writers Choice for 1998 in the January/February 1999 issue of Coda. Selected as a 199 Critics Choice in the February, 2000 issue of Jazz Journal International by Floyd Levin.

    Original Dixieland One-step

  • It Had to be You
  • Struttin´ with Some Barbecue
  • Passion Flower
  • The Lady´s In Love with You
  • She´s Funny That Way
  • On the Alamo
  • Rebecca (A Seasoned Citizen´s Love Song)
  • Ten Tons of Blues
  • Georgia Cabin
  • Life Is Just a Bowl of Cherries
  • Hindustan
  • Save It, Pretty Mama Running Wild

  • Home | About Us | Contact Us

    ©2000 - 2017 Arbors Records, Inc.