Rick Fay and Friends: Oh, Baby

Artists / Instruments:
Rick Fay: CL, TS, SS, Vocal

  • Ernie Carson: Cornet, Vocal
  • Dan Barrett: Trombone
  • Bob Leary: Banjo, Guitar, Vocal
  • Tom Baldwin: Piano
  • Lee Richardson: Sousaphone, Bass
  • Pat Doyle: Drums

    A followup to the classic "Memories of You session but without Johnny Mince. "Sometimes, if one closes ones eyes, the opening strains of a selection, even though recorded recently, can take the memory back decades. In the case at hand-the album OH BABY-and in terms of this writers youthful forays onto the club scene, the emotional system replays the excitement this jazz-struck teenager felt, say, upon entering Washington, D. C.s Club Bali in the mid-1940s to see, for the very first time, Louis Armstrongs All Stars-well named, since on that bandstand with Pops were no less than Barney Bigard, Jack Teagarden, Earl Hines, Big Sid Catlett, and Arvell Shaw...I hope I make myself clear, for a similar sort of feverish condition came over me as I grooved on my first hearing of "OH BABY, and several replays have not dimmed my enthusiasm. The album is truly vintage Chicago style. -- W. Royal Stokes, broadcaster and author of The Jazz Scene: An Informal history from New Orleans to 1990.

    Oh Baby

  • Tin Roof Blues
  • Sunday Medley: Emaline
  • It All Depends On You
  • Lazy Mood
  • Goodnight Little Girl, Goodnight
  • If You Were the Only Girl
  • As Long As I Live
  • Chinatown, My Chinatown
  • New Orleans Lou-easy-an-i-a
  • If You See My Mother
  • Sandy
  • Deed I Do

  • Home | About Us | Contact Us

    ©2000 - 2017 Arbors Records, Inc.